Fear Poem by Melody Christensen

The aroma of coffee, sweet with love

fills my palette on Monday mornings,

itchy cheek kisses from your

unshaved stubble whisper “I Love You.”

You run late to work because

the warmth of us under layers of blanket

makes the bed seem like a boat in the

middle of a sleeping ocean.

“You’re worth it,” you shout as you rush out the door.

I stumble out of bed- stuck in a limbo

of selfishness and complete undying love from you.

For though you love me with every fiber in your heart,

I plead to any God that will listen

for me to give that love back to you,

but I can’t.

Fear Poem by Melody Christensen

Leave a Reply

