Object Impermanence by Steven Rydarowski

Here I sit

betwixt your blinks

flickering

in and out

of existence

only staying

and remaining

while your eyes

are upon me.

I am undone

when you run

your sweaty, sticky palms

into eyelids

that sag and droop

a greying red

after I pop back

with their opening.

Time jumps for me

when I go unseen

for moments

minutes

sometimes hours.

Someday you’ll look away

and I’ll be gone

forever.

Steven Rydarowski is poet, professor at Lone Star College, and a supporter of Campus Words.

Object Impermanence by Steven Rydarowski

Leave a Reply

