Untitled by Latoya Samuel

A thirty-two pound sack of crawfish I call mudbugs

The Cajun aroma of garlic, pepper, onion, and a plethora of spices

Hit me in the face seasonings went up my nose grabbed me

And led me down the hall

I’m going to be sick I know I will try and eat them all

Boiling water and vapored spices of steam

Pinch me I feel like I’m in a dream

Just as I saw them before the delightful cuisine

If one did pinch me that would be mean

On the stove the pot is huge eighty quarts filled to the brim

Yes, Yes I will eat all of them

St Patrick’s Day March Easter April Memorial Day May Father’s Day June

Only a short harvest makes this mudbug season end so soon.

Latoya Samuel is a Student at Lone Star College.

Untitled by Latoya Samuel

Leave a Reply

